Home | Contact | Deutsch

Helmut Lasarcyk


Lazarczyk Family, Germany



ancestral origin: 
former  
East Prussia
localities: Marggrabowa, Treuburg, Oletzko & Lyck County
secondary localities:
Ratzeburg, Kirchwerder
associated surnames: 
Lazarczyk, Lasarzik, Johannsen, Sych, Chmielewski, Ciborowski, Rydzewski

e-mail contact: info[at]lasarcyk.de 

Family database online.

The Lasarcyk (Lasarzik, Lazarczyk, also Lazarchik and sometimes Lazarski) family group most likely originates from northern Mazovia, the northeastern province of Poland. Hundreds of families still bear the name Lazarczyk there, the name meaning "son of Lazar(us)". Some (or just one) of them moved further north to what was then called "wilderness" and in later times became German East Prussia. In 1634 the first Lasarzik can be located in the records at Marggrabowa. By the year 1700 several members of this clan can be found in Lutheran church registers of the area of Marggrabowa, later called by the German name of Treuburg (Olecko nowadays). Under German rule the Lazarczyks had become Protestants, and during the 19th century they gradually switched to speaking German. So far no details about the early days of their settlement have been found out.

Many members of the family group moved on to different places, like West Germany or the USA. We would like to unravel the history of the settlement of this Lazarczyk group who moved north before or around the year 1700 and of the further developments as far as possible and to establish links between members of the clan. Research includes the checking of all surviving church records of the southeastern part of East Prussia. Anybody who can contribute is welcome to contact us, so that we can share what we have found so far.

Our direct ancestor is Julius Lazarczyk, born 06 May 1873 in Olschoewen (today Olszewa), Oletzko County, the youngest of 8 children of Friedrich Lazarczyk, born 23 April 1833 in Olschoewen, and his wife Auguste, née Rydzewski. He emigrated westward probably around 1895 and settled in the vicinity of Ratzeburg, Holstein, where he married in 1898 and died in 1939. Julius had seven siblings, all born in Olschoewen (Oletzko county) to the same parents:

   i August Lazarczyk, born 7 Oct 1854
   ii Jetta Lazarczyk, born 10 Mar 1857
   iii Herrmann Lazarczyk, born 11 Jan 1859
   iv August Lazarczyk, born 1860
   v Karl August Lazarczyk, born 1 Aug 1864
   vi Ludwig Lazarczyk, born 19 Aug 1867 (changed his name to Achenbach in the 1920s)
   vii Johann Lazarczyk, born 5 Jul 1870 and died 20 Feb 1872

Friedrich Lazarczyk was the son of Matthias Lazarczyk, born 24 September 1805 in Olschoewen, and Eva Sych, born 15 March 1809 in Dopken, Oletzko County.
Matthias was the son of Gottlieb Lazarcyk, born in 9 January 1786 in Lengowen (Lengau), Oletzko County, and Sophie Chmielewski, born ca 1782 in Olschoewen.
Gottlieb's parents were Jacob Lazarcyk and Louise Ciborowski, both born around 1760. The exact birth dates of these are not available because the church registers for those years have been lost in a fire. Jacob died 18 July 1813 in Lengowen, Oletzko County, Louise died 28 April 1831, also in Lengowen. All the above were Lutherans.

Here is the list of surnames that came up in our family research: Lasarcyk List.
Or check out the online family database.

PS. Any other Lasarzik groups are invited to contribute too. We already found out that there was a group in eastern Slovakia that spread out to Pennsylvania, USA. And also several Lazarczyks from Poland emigrated. Would you like to get in contact with them? Maybe more clans can be located.
See also the international Lasarcyk website at www.lasarcyk.de .

Online Genealogical References:

Verein fürFamilienforschung in Ost- und Westpreußen
Prussian-Russian-Canadian Mennonite Genealogical Resources

Home | Kontakt | English

Helmut Lasarcyk

































Andreas,
Henning, Waltraud,
meldet euch. :-)


Familie Lasarcyk, Ostpreußen

HerkunftOstpreußen (Masuren)
Hauptorte: 
Marggrabowa, Treuburg, Kreise Oletzko & Lyck
Nebenorte: Ratzeburg, Kirchwerder
verwandt mit:  Lazarczyk, Lasarzik, Johannsen, Sych, Chmielewski, Ciborowski, Rydzewski

Sehr wahrscheinlich stammt die Sippe Lasarcyk (auch Lasarzik, Lazarczyk, Lasarczyk, Lazardzig u. a.) aus Masowien im Nordosten Polens. Heute noch wohnen dort hunderte Familien dieses Namens (über 1700 "Lazarczyk" waren es 2011 in ganz Polen!). Der Name bedeutet "Sohn des Lazarus" und kann christlichen wie jüdischen Ursprungs sein. Eine oder mehrere Familien dieses Namens siedelten sich (vielleicht bereits um das Jahr 1500) weiter nordwärts in der "Wildnis" an, einem Gebiet, das später zu Ostpreußen gehörte. Den bislang frühesten dokumentierten Vertreter der Sippe Lasarzik fanden wir 1634 in Marggrabowa. Um 1700 erscheinen bereits mehrere Verteter des Familienstamms in den evangelischen Kirchenbüchern der Gegend von Marggrabowa, Kreis Oletzko (später Treuburg, jetzt Olecko). Unter der deutschen Herrschaft wurde die Familie evangelisch und ging spätestens im 19. Jahrhundert zur deutschen Sprache über. Über die frühe Zeit der Ansiedlung ist bisher nichts Genaues bekannt.

Viele Angehörige des Stamms zogen weiter nach Westen, nach Deutschland oder in die USA. Wir möchten die Siedlungsgeschichte dieser Familiengruppe Lazarczyk, die vor dem Jahr 1700 aus Masowien nach Norden auswanderte, genauer erforschen und Verbindungen zwischen den Angehörigen der Gruppe knüpfen. Dazu werden derzeit sämtliche erhaltenen Kirchenbücher aus der Gegend des südöstlichen Ostpreußens durchforscht. Wer dazu etwas beitragen kann und helfen möchte, ist herzlich willkommen. Wir teilen gerne mit, was wir bisher gefunden haben.

Zur Online-Familiendatenbank.

Unsere Gruppe stammt ab von Julius Lazarczyk, geb. 06. Mai 1873 in Olschöwen (dem späteren Erlental, heute Olszewa), Krs Oletzko, dem jüngsten von acht Kindern des Friedrich Lazarczyk, geb. 23. April 1833 in Olschöwen, und dessen Ehefrau Auguste, geb. Rydzewski. Er wanderte ca. 1895 in Richtung Westen aus und liess sich in der Nähe von Ratzeburg im Lauenburgischen nieder, wo er 1898 heiratete und 1939 starb. Seine Geschwister waren:

   i August Lazarczyk, geboren 07.10.1854 in Olschoewen Krs. Oletzko
   ii Jetta Lazarczyk, geboren 10.03.1857 in Olschoewen Krs. Oletzko
   iii Herrmann Lazarczyk, geboren 11.01.1859 in Olschoewen Krs. Oletzko
   iv August Lazarczyk, geboren 1860 in Olschoewen Krs. Oletzko
   v Karl August Lazarczyk, geboren 01.08.1864 in Olschoewen Krs. Oletzko
   vi Ludwig Lazarczyk, geboren 19.08.1867 in Olschoewen Krs. Oletzko
       (der seinen Namen in den 1920er Jahren amtlich in Achenbach abänderte)
   vii Johann Lazarczyk, geboren 05.07.1870 in Olschoewen Krs. Oletzko, gestorben 20.02.1872

Friedrich Lazarczyk war der Sohn von Matthias Lazarczyk, geb. 24. September 1805 in Olschoewen, und Eva Sych, geb. 15. März 1809 in Dopken, Kreis Oletzko (Marggrabowa).
Matthias war der Sohn von Gottlieb Lazarcyk, geb. 9. Januar 1786 in Lengowen, Kreis Oletzko, und Sophie Chmielewski, geb. ca. 1782 in Olschöwen.

Gottliebs Eltern waren Jacob Lazarcyk und Louise Ciborowski, beide geboren um 1760, sämtlich evangelisch. Von den letzten beiden fehlen die genauen Geburtsdaten, da die Kirchenbücher für diese Jahre bei einem Kirchenbrand vernichtet wurden. Damit lässt sich die Linie leider nicht genau weiter zurück verfolgen. Jacob Lazarcyk starb am 18. Juli 1813, Louise am 28. April 1831, beide in Lengowen.

Hier die Liste der Nachnamen, die sich bisher ergeben haben:  Liste Lasarcyk.
Außerdem steht die Familien-Datenbank online zur Verfügung.

Unsere eMail-Adresse lautet: info[at]Lasarcyk.de (bitte das [at] gegen @ vertauschen)

PS. Auch andere Lasarzik-Gruppen sind herzlich eingeladen, Kontakt aufzunehmen. Wir werden gerne Verbindungen herstellen. Es hat sich schon eine solche Gruppe im Osten der Slowakei gefunden, die teilweise in die USA auswanderte. Auch etliche Lazarczyks aus Polen wanderten aus. Einige sind uns bereits bekannt. Vielleicht lassen sich weitere Gruppen identifizieren und das große Puzzle wird immer mehr komplett. 

Nutzen Sie auch das Web-Portal www.lasarcyk.de .

Weiter nützliche Internetquellen:
Verein fürFamilienforschung in Ost- und Westpreußen
Prussian-Russian-Canadian Mennonite Genealogical Resources

Lese-Empfehlung:
Andreas Kossert: Masuren. Ostpreußens vergessener Süden (2006)
ISBN 978-3-570-55006-9